Background to Waterloo

The Battle of Waterloo took place on 18 June 1815. It ended with the decisive victory for both armies: that of the allies, commanded by the Duke of Wellington, comprising British, German (contingents from Hannover, Brunswick and Nassau) and Dutch (Belgian and Holland) troops and the Prussians, commanded by Marshal Blücher; both came up against the Northern Army from France led by Emperor Napoleon I.

The Commune of Waterloo is located around twenty kilometres south of Brussels, in Belgium. However, the fighting did not actually take place in Waterloo, but a little further to the south, in the current communes of Lasne and Braine-l'Alleud. In France, the battle has often been called the "Battle of Mont Saint-Jean", the more precise location of the actual combat. In Germany, it is called the "Battle of the Belle -Alliance".

This is the final battle in which Napoleon took part, having taken control of France during the One Hundred Days. Despite his desire to continue fighting with the new forces, he lacked political backing and had to abdicate four days after returning from Paris.

Battlefield

Thousands of participants from across many countries will meet on the battle ground for a large-scale historical reconstruction. Waterloo in June 2015!

Everyone will be in period clothing, with bivouacs and combats opposing Napoleon's troops with Blücher's and Wellington’s troops

2015 will mark the bicentenary of this major event!
www.waterloo-tourisme.be

To view a map and the addresses of the various locations please, click hier

© 2014 Le Bivouac Waterloo  I  Legal information  I  Concept by SCAGraphic

Historique de la bataille de Waterloo

La Bataille de Waterloo s'est déroulée le 18 juin 1815. Elle s'est terminée par la victoire décisive de deux armées : celle des alliés, commandée par le duc de Wellington, composée de Britanniques, d'Allemands (contingents du Hanovre, du Brunswick, du Nassau) et de Néerlandais (unités belges et hollandaises) et celle des Prussiens, commandée par le maréchal Blücher ; toutes deux opposées à l'armée française dite Armée du Nord emmenée par l'empereur Napoléon Ier.

La commune de Waterloo se situe à une vingtaine de kilomètres au sud de Bruxelles, en Belgique. Toutefois, les combats n'eurent pas lieu à Waterloo mais un peu plus au sud, sur le territoire des communes actuelles de Lasne et de Braine-l'Alleud. La bataille a souvent été appelée en France « bataille de Mont Saint-Jean », lieu plus précis de l'engagement effectif.
En Allemagne, elle est appelée « bataille de la Belle-Alliance ».

Cette bataille est la dernière à laquelle prit part personnellement Napoléon, qui avait repris le contrôle de la France durant la période dite des Cent-Jours. Malgré son désir de poursuivre la lutte avec de nouvelles forces qui se reconstituaient, il dut, par manque de soutien politique, abdiquer quatre jours après son retour à Paris.

Reconstitution de la Bataille de Waterloo

Des milliers de participants venus de multiples pays se retrouveront sur le champ de bataille pour une grande reconstitution historique. A Waterloo juin en 2015 !

Ils seront tous en tenue de l'époque des bivouacs et combats qui opposèrent les troupes de Napoléon à celles de Wellington et Blücher.

2015 sera donc l'année du bicentenaire de cet événement incontournable!
www.waterloo-tourisme.be

Pour consulter le plan et les adresses des différents lieux ci-dessous, cliquez ici

© 2014 Le Bivouac Waterloo  I  Mentions légales  I  Concept by SCAGraphic